UTAH!
April 14

How I Know It Is Spring

I Know It Is Spring when the snow turns to slush and it starts to rain.  When the rain comes I know Spring is close by.  Then all the snow melts and I see leaves all over the lawn.  Then I see sticks on my lawn too. My dad gets me and my brothers and we groan and say fine and we start to pick up all the sticks.  Then we put them in our wheel barrow and I haul it over to the brush pile.  (We burned it this year so we have to make a new one) I also know when Spring is near because the air gets warm and I start to smell a sweet smell. I see my brothers running outside.  They start to play soccer and basketball.  My dad opens the shed and we get out the porch furniture. Then I see golfers wearing short sleeves at the golf course next door. And people start to talk about pool parties and sunny days. my mom asks me if there is any Summer camps I would like to go to again.  I also start thinking about Easter.  Then my mom takes me online to shop for new Summer and Spring clothing.  We also go to my Grammys and Gramps and my Gigis and Peps for an Easter egg hunt.  Then my Mom and Dad get a ham and we start to celebrate Easter. My Mom makes Hot Cross Buns and we eat them.  And my Dad and Mom make us go out side more often.  And we go to the beach.  My brother Bryson makes sandcastles.  My Brother Phin passes his Football with my Dad. I surf. and my mom helps my brother make sandcastles.  My Mom also invites her college friends to go to the beach with us.  I also know it is Spring because the sky turns blue and the grass turns green.  My Mom opens the windows.  And I sleep with less covers and wear short sleeve pjs.  I also play sports outside on a real field on a real team with real uniforms.  And me and my friends meet more often.  We go to playgrounds. Walk around Portsmouth.  And visit my grandparents to take hikes and walks with them.  We talk about going to Boston and going to the aquarium.  And staying over night at a hotel.

How do you know it is spring???

UTAH!


Posted April 14, 2020 by mayslearning in category Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “How I Know It Is Spring

  1. Mrs. Eaves

    Hi May,
    I like all the ways you know it is spring. My favorite image is of how you and your brothers groan when your father asks you to pick up the sticks that are revealed when the snow melts. I also like how you used colors to flow from one collection of spring memories to another.
    Well done! You are a creative author!
    ✏️Mrs. Eaves

    Reply
  2. Grammy

    Boy, May, I love your thoughts on Spring and your writing is very good! My one big thought on how I know it’s Spring is hearing the Peepers for the first time. I love to hear the sound of Peepers and I always mark the date I first hear them on the calendar. This year I first heard them on March 18th. That was a little more than a week earlier than last year so I figured Spring would come a little earlier in 2020. Peepers are actually tiny tree frogs that live under dead leaves all winter almost frozen. When Spring comes and the weather warms that’s when you hear them. I bet you’ve heard them because you have some wetland across the street from where you live. Listen for them and think of me telling you this story.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*